Skip to content

Best ASU Class Seat Tracker in 2026 (Free vs Paid)

·Updated September 28, 20268 min read

There is no single best tracker for every ASU student. PickMyClass lists free email alerts and a 30-minute check cycle; ASUClassFinder and SeatSignal publish text-alert options; and Courseer has a free one-class plan plus paid tiers. This independent comparison checks each vendor’s published price, coverage, setup, alert channel, cadence, and stated limits.

Last checked: 28 Sep 2026

Disclosure: PickMyClass publishes this page and is included in the comparison. PickMyClass says it is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Arizona State University. The vendor descriptions below are self-reported; we did not independently measure alert delivery speed or verify enrollment outcomes. PickMyClass affiliation and service FAQ

Table of Contents

ASU trackers compared

Vendor-published claims checked 28 Sep 2026. ‘Not stated’ means the linked public pages did not specify it.
TrackerCoverage and setupPublished priceAlert channelPublished check cadenceLimits and caveats
PickMyClassASU; search by section number and add sections to a watchlist.Free; no paid tiers listed.Email notifications for seat availability and instructor assignments; no SMS is listed on the pages checked.30 minutes (site claim; scheduler uses two staggered groups).Email alerts only; you still register through ASU. Does not ask for MyASU credentials.
ASUClassFinderASU; public pages describe monitoring selected classes.Basic $2/mo (1 class); Silver $3/mo (3); Gold $7/mo (10).Email and text; site advertises instant alerts.Site says 24/7 monitoring; exact polling interval not stated.Plans cap the number of tracked classes; no delivery-time guarantee is stated.
SeatSignalASU and Texas A&M; choose a school and track classes.Current amount not visible on the public purchase page checked. Its May 2023 post lists $2/$3/$5 per term (historical).Email and text with a direct enrollment link (ASU page).1-minute checks claimed on the ASU page; not independently timed.The exact current price was not verified; older prices should not be treated as current.
CourseerASU; add classes to a watchlist.Free: 1 class; Gold $4/mo (up to 4); Sparky $9/mo (up to 8).Text; plan-dependent delayed, priority, or instant notifications.Exact polling interval not stated; site says it tracks regularly.The free plan says delayed texts may arrive up to 14 minutes after a seat opens.
Pick A Class (pickaclass.app)ASU seat-notification product historically; its own site now says it is closed.Not available as an active service.No current alerts; ASU News described the service as notifying students when a filled class had a spot.No current cadence published.Not an active option on the 28 Sep 2026 check date.
Manual ASU searchASU; open the class search and check sections yourself.No tracker plan; you check manually.None from manual checking.Whenever you check.No automatic notification; use ASU’s registration flow to enroll.

Primary sources

How to read the comparison

We compared public product and pricing pages, not hands-on timing tests. A vendor’s “instant” or “real-time” wording is presented as its claim, not a guarantee. For SeatSignal, the current purchase route did not show a price before sign-in; the older vendor post is labeled historical rather than treated as a current plan. Prices and plan details can change after this check.

PickMyClass’s 30-minute claim was also checked against the repository’s schedule: the section workflow runs on 15-minute triggers and alternates two groups, so each group is scheduled every 30 minutes. The change detector and notification sender cover newly available seats and assigned instructors. See wrangler.jsonc, lib/workflows/cron-workflows.ts, lib/queue/change-detector.ts, and lib/queue/notification-sender.ts.

Pick A Class status

“Pick A Class” was a real ASU student venture: ASU News described it in 2023 as a platform that notified students when a spot opened in a filled class. Its own site now says the service is closed and gives a refund deadline of October 1, 2025, so it is not an active tracker on this page’s check date. It is different from PickAClass.com, whose current homepage describes an online learning-course catalog, not an ASU seat tracker.

Which option fits your needs?

  • If free email notifications and a stated 30-minute check cycle fit, compare PickMyClass’s published details with the other services’ plan limits.
  • If you specifically want text alerts, compare the current plan prices and published cadence for ASUClassFinder, SeatSignal, and Courseer. SeatSignal’s current public price was not verifiable at this check.
  • If you only need to look up a section, use ASU’s registration instructions and verify enrollment in My ASU. An alert tells you to check a seat; it does not enroll you.

Common questions

Which tracker is fastest?

The published claims are not a controlled speed test. SeatSignal says it checks each minute; PickMyClass lists 30 minutes; ASUClassFinder says it monitors 24/7 but does not state an exact interval; and Courseer does not publish an exact check interval on its page. The linked sources above show what each vendor states.

Will a tracker register me when a seat opens?

No. These services describe notifications so you can act; use ASU’s own registration flow to enroll. Seat availability can change before you complete registration.

Is Pick A Class still available?

No. The Pick A Class site says it is closed. The online learning catalog at PickAClass.com is a separate, similarly named service.

PT
PickMyClass TeamIndependent product comparison

Sources, dates, and comparison limits are shown above.